AD&D Rakshasa for AGE

I’ve been working, slowly, on a book of adversary stats as my next netbook project. The progress has slowed because of a number of reasons, but recently I made a decision not to include the Rakshasa in my Mystara Adversary Compendium, because originally Rakshasa aren’t found in the setting.

Granted, there is an Indian themed nation that is embroiled in darkness in the setting, and it is plagued by monstrous shape shifters. That sounds just like rakshasa, but instead the Mystara setting instead has randara. And while they fulfill the role of evil shape shifters with spell-like abilities that prey on humans by choice and are dedicated to dark immortals, they aren’t Rakshasa in the D&D sense, as their statistics are quite different. I should know, as I created statistics for both and thought that each was pretty close to the source material.

So now that I’ve completely excised the Rakshasa from the book, you all can have it for use in your games or to tweak.

This link is for a PDF (881 kb) for a one-page writeup of the creature. Enjoy!

About Byron D. Molix

I am an information technology professional in Missouri. I've been an avid fan of fantasy and science fiction novels, comic books, pen and paper role-playing games, computer games and console video games for the last two decades. My dream would be to one day make a comfortable living while having the time to pursue writing (novels, rpgs, etc.) as a full-time hobby.

Posted on May 14, 2011, in AGE, Downloads, Gaming and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Very neat write up. It is missing the Health, Speed, Defense and Armor section, though.

    Let me know when you’ve fixed that. I will tweet a link to it on @DragonAgeOracle and later on we can run it on the Oracle as well.

Leave a Reply

