From the Vault: Mortal Magics

Back in 2004, there were two White Wolf Storytelling games. Vampire: the Requiem, and World of Darkness, i.e. playing mortals. There just wasn’t any provision for humans who could do magic, even as antagonists. So you could crib things together based on them being like a vampire, or you could handwave it all away. I had decided around that time that I wanted something more. I was working on a World of Darkness game that was similar to Scion in theme, if not scope. So, I needed a more robust magic wielding system for the Incarnates, and consequently that made it easy to adapt the same rules to the needs of mortals.

Once I had done the ground work, I put it into a PDF and put it up on the old site. I have no idea how many people saw it, but I do know that it wasn’t much of a surprise to me when Second Sight came out and included a ritual magic system for mortals to use. I didn’t expend any effort in revising this for use with Second Sight, but I did make it prettier to look at, addressed some minor issues with the text and am now re-uploading it here. This is not a revision, nor a Second Sight compatible netbook, but it might have some interesting ideas you can apply in a World of Darkness game.

Mortal Magics, a PDF (180 kb)

About Byron D. Molix

I am an information technology professional in Missouri. I've been an avid fan of fantasy and science fiction novels, comic books, pen and paper role-playing games, computer games and console video games for the last two decades. My dream would be to one day make a comfortable living while having the time to pursue writing (novels, rpgs, etc.) as a full-time hobby.

Posted on May 30, 2011, in Downloads, Gaming, Storytelling System and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

