Antiquarian Adventures

So while I’ve been thinking about that adventure anthology idea, it seems like the bulk of the stories I’ve come up with are set in the distant or not recent past. So now I’m working on a trio of adventure volumes for Eternal Shadows (game and world) that are tied by their place in history. The intention is to write them all as horror adventures, but they will be as compatible with other AGE games as I can make them if antiquarian fantasy with a dark bent is more your speed.

Dark Corners of the Empire is a trio (or more) of stories set in ancient Rome. Right now I am planning for a tale of corruption and the folly of eldritch terrors in Rome itself, a story of Longinus’ return and attempted coup, and a story of terror on the frontier. All three of these adventures are set in a time when humanity is finally firmly in charge of the Earth’s destiny, but the horrors of the past have only been imprisoned recently, and it is still possible to descend into the utter chaos of the pre-history age.

Wolves of the North is more of a supplement for using the remnants of the Aesir, a tribe of mystically enhanced therianthropes, in the modern day. However, the adventures I have planned for the volume are set in the days of the Vikings. One story involves a handful of Aesir and their human servants hunting down a lone viking prince who advocates leaving the old gods behind. Another story is a brush with the raven twins of the Aesir as they desecrate battlefields across Europe. The last story relates to the events that led to the confrontation that caused the Aesir to go into hiding, called the Skraeling Tree Massacre.

At Her Majesty’s Pleasure is a set of adventures set in the Victorian Age. The plots on these are more standard and maybe even transparent, but the working titles are Wolves of London, Chasing the Dragon, Hellfire and Damnation and The Day After Yesterday.

So the question is, is this worth the investment of time? Do any of you want to see stories set firmly in the past? Comment below and it will serve as inspiration for me. If you are yourself inspired, I would be happy to hand over what plot and setting information I have and let you write an adventure or so. Just let me know.

About Byron D. Molix

I am an information technology professional in Missouri. I've been an avid fan of fantasy and science fiction novels, comic books, pen and paper role-playing games, computer games and console video games for the last two decades. My dream would be to one day make a comfortable living while having the time to pursue writing (novels, rpgs, etc.) as a full-time hobby.

Posted on November 12, 2011, in AGE, Gaming and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Had to look up “therianthrope” but the viking idea sounds good.

    • I had to look it up too to find the right term. Lycanthrope is fairly specific to wolves, and in the actual setting, getting turned by a werewolf doesn’t mean you’ll become one. I could have said shapeshifter, but that’s not as specific either. Thanks for your comment.

  2. I saw that little blurb about the Victorian-era adventures and have to say that I think they’re absolutely worth the investment and time. I love the Victorian-era and think that AGE / Eternal Shadows would be a perfect fit for that style of game. If I were a better writer, I’d love to pitch in and help… I know a bit of InDesign and Photoshop, so I could offer to help you in that regard if you like.

Leave a Reply

