Announcing the 9 Worlds Project

9 Worlds Project LogoI’ve felt a bit like I’ve neglected those readers who come here for new content. The reasons behind that are that I’ve been working on a new tabletop roleplaying game system, and it isn’t near ready for public consumption. And while I intend to start a series talking about that as well, I recently came up with an idea I can do that will be new content and new ideas for people to use, while working towards my other goals.

So I thought to myself, since the focus of the system I’m working on is high action adventure, it might be a nice project to create several mini or micro settings that support that style of play. I decided I should aim to stretch my creativity, so each setting is tied to one of the 9 Worlds on Yggdrasil, at least in a metaphoric sense. I’ve also made it a priority that each world is different. If there are two fantasy settings, they are fundamentally different from one another.

So I’ve created a new tag for anything I post tied to one of these settings called 9Worlds. Each entry in a 9 Worlds post will include background information, cultural information, an adversary, artifact or an adventure hook. I may from time to time include game stats, but as the game I’m designing them for isn’t available to you I will render anything requiring statistics in a simple system such as AGE, or Savage Worlds. Once I’ve described enough of my system for people to begin to piece things together, I may simply show the statistics I’m working with. As this is somewhat of a thought experiment, I’m not going to have art for much of it, and any art I do find would just be evocative and I won’t have the rights to use for any compilation volumes. So bear with me, and get your imaginations tuned up. I think everyone will enjoy the ride.

These are the settings I’m going to start with. I’ll tell you the genres of each out-of-order. That may tide you over while I prepare info on each in turn for future posts: Planetary Romance, Demon Hunters, Historical Fantasy, Pulp Serials, Espionage, and Science Fiction.

About Byron D. Molix

I am an information technology professional in Missouri. I've been an avid fan of fantasy and science fiction novels, comic books, pen and paper role-playing games, computer games and console video games for the last two decades. My dream would be to one day make a comfortable living while having the time to pursue writing (novels, rpgs, etc.) as a full-time hobby.

Posted on May 14, 2012, in Gaming and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

