What I’m doing, Where I’m going

I know I said that I would have a quick start document to download a few months ago. Unfortunately for me, the adventure aspect of it has been harder to put together than I expected, and this is after it took longer than anticipated to pull the rules segment into layout. So, the  whole package should be ready sometime before end of year, and that’s my only firm deadline on that.

I have recently reclaimed some very old files and have decided to revisit some of them, while wrapping a new game around those concepts. So, while I will continue to tinker with and probably self-publish Daring Adventures Core, and at least one setting document in the new year, my 2014 project is this new game.

I’ve put construction of my last game, Cinematic Fighting System, on indefinite hold, but it is likely to be released in the coming year as well. This means that I won’t be releasing an annual October Horror adventure for Eternal Shadows this year. I will make the same offer I have made in the past, if someone has an adventure for this system, I’d be happy to lay it out in Eternal Shadows style, and post a PDF here on this site. I’ll do this at any time, as long as it is understood that it may take a while.

Three different systems, with 3 different niches and play styles. With two of them being fairly generic expressions of the Pulp Action, and Animated Adventures genres and the new one being strictly Fantasy based, I think that they each stand on their own rather well, and feel no need to throw every resource into a single house engine at this point.

I will probably do some development of the new game in blog posts, but just as with Daring Adventures, there is no guarantee that anything developed in plain sight will make it to the final build. Along with some projects in other areas, that’s all I’m presently committing myself to for 2014. It is shaping up to be a big year of change for me, and I don’t want to spread myself too thin.

About Byron D. Molix

I am an information technology professional in Missouri. I've been an avid fan of fantasy and science fiction novels, comic books, pen and paper role-playing games, computer games and console video games for the last two decades. My dream would be to one day make a comfortable living while having the time to pursue writing (novels, rpgs, etc.) as a full-time hobby.

Posted on October 27, 2013, in Editorial. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

