Adventure Trove Editorial

I have reached a point in development on the Adventure Trove game system that I’ve basically written up everything I consider to be absolutely necessary for a fantasy role-playing game. That doesn’t mean I’m done developing every aspect, but the rules themselves are about beta level. So while I still have plenty of development to do on spells, creatures, and the world in general, the basic rules are “done.” Normally at this time I’d start looking for groups of people to playtest. So I’m going to open it up to reader opinion. If you would be interested in playtesting Adventure Trove, post a comment below or send me a message using the menu button above.

If I get even one response at this time, I’ll quickly lay out the rules in a single document (I tend to develop piecemeal and have documents with the relevant information in several places), work up a simple agreement and forward information to interested parties.

I’m not going to include any Seven Realms IP. Because of that decision at this time, Sorcery might be pathless and I would allow sorcerers to pick 2 spells per rank of the skill (which would now be general). The idea would be to grab some world you already know from your shelf (most D&D worlds would work) and run some adventures, then report back your findings.

If demand is very high, I may not polish everything visually but rather send out ‘typewriter’ clean documents. Normally, I’d generate a PDF with an index, or because this is the new thing, an .epub. The higher the demand however, the more likely it will be an .rtf document, as those are readable on macs, windows and linux PCs without a lot of difficulty.

Also, I want to present an overview of the Setting in a later post and get feedback on that as well. I’m not going to do a kickstarter and then nominate reader-ambassadors to determine development, but I am willing to outline the character of specific regions, and focus development in the areas I’m asked to by readers. My full scope for this world is akin to a full fledged D&D campaign, so most of my work is going to be infusing the gazetteer with the themes of each individual country or people. I’m not going to do any in-depth development at this stage, except for what seem to be fan favorite nations.

 

About Byron D. Molix

I am an information technology professional in Missouri. I've been an avid fan of fantasy and science fiction novels, comic books, pen and paper role-playing games, computer games and console video games for the last two decades. My dream would be to one day make a comfortable living while having the time to pursue writing (novels, rpgs, etc.) as a full-time hobby.

Posted on February 21, 2014, in AT, Editorial and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

