What I’m up to

It should come as no shock to any of you that I have had very little output lately because real life has taken over. I’m preparing to move to a new company, a new city, and a new residence. It’s been a very trying few months trying to get everything in its place, because unlike the last time I moved house, it was with much less belongings, for a much shorter distance, and alone.

In any case, to maintain my sanity I’ve been working on projects here and there, and by that I mean snippets of my own projects. I did quite a bit of writing for Green Ronin this calendar year and plan to get back to it as soon as my life calms down somewhat. No I mean that I’ve been plugging away at various portions of the gigantic project that is a realized fantasy world such as the Seven Realms.

I’ve also put some more polish on Daring Adventures, although I haven’t tried writing the quickstart adventure again. Writing prepackaged adventures is always somewhat difficult for me. You want to put something for everyone in, because you can’t prepare personalized hooks according to known player likes and dislikes. You want it to stand out from the crowd and showcase a little bit of what makes your setting or system shine. You want it to be something that is an attempt at originality, rather than a blatant riff.

I hit a writer’s block on that for These Idyllic States, because writing a pulp adventure for heroes I watched be created with prejudices I am well aware of is much easier than writing one for people I am telling to act in a certain way without providing a page of directorial notes. Maybe I’d have better luck producing that for Space Patrol, or even Broken Trust.

I’ve also been working on a board game idea that borrows heavily from an espionage setting I created years ago. The basic idea is that you work against other factions to win victory points, and you can affect the board, including your opponents with specialized actions. The key here is that you can’t win just by ruining your opponent’s day, and unlike a TCG, the faction decks are static. The goal is to pick a side, play to that side’s strengths and win the day. I may talk more about this later and even show off some card mockups, but I make no promises. I’d have to raise quite a bit of funds to pay for the amount of art a board game needs.

 

About Byron D. Molix

I am an information technology professional in Missouri. I've been an avid fan of fantasy and science fiction novels, comic books, pen and paper role-playing games, computer games and console video games for the last two decades. My dream would be to one day make a comfortable living while having the time to pursue writing (novels, rpgs, etc.) as a full-time hobby.

Posted on June 21, 2014, in Editorial and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

