End of Year Update

As I think about what I’ve been working on over the last year I realize that I haven’t been very forthcoming with my goals, so I’ll outline what I want to accomplish in 2016. There may not be another post before January, so this is going to be a bit longer than a simple note.

Daring Adventures
This game ruleset is mostly done, but I had decided to flesh out my 9 Worlds campaign material so that there was something to play with it. I may just jump into layout and produce a rules manual in any case. It’s mostly written in that format anyway, but it isn’t as pretty as I had planned for, nor did I have any adventures ready to run for any of the worlds. Still, there seems to be some interest in Space Patrol as a world, so I may flesh out a primer for that world and just post it for download.

Alloy System
Even with all of the rules tweaks and rewrites, (I’ve been more of a perfectionist with this than I have with any past work), this is just about fully written. I’ve got the primer well on its way to finishing layout, but there isn’t much art. After I finish the rules primer, it’s back to the drawing board to work up a final character sheet, and an introductory adventure scenario. One of the more popular campaign post series I’ve done has been on Qadir, my Crusades Era Fantasy world. So I decided to recreate the entire thing for Alloy. I really should wait to drop the Primer and sheet with Qadir, but I might put it out shortly afterwards.

After the initial publication I will focus time on Champions of the Seven Realms. I intend to publish more posts which include the work that will go into the book. So rather than being pure explanation about concepts behind the setting, it will be more setting material.

Cinematic Fighting System
I may put this into publishable form this year, but as I’ve said in the past it’s kind of a vanity diceless indie anime game. The only thing the rules govern is combat type actions, because really there isn’t much point in most settings that fit this game type to rigidly adjudicating the posturing, intrigues and so forth. If I do publish it, it won’t be to gather a following or show how I think anime gaming should be done, as my focus on that has shifted somewhat, but rather just so people can have access to it.

Drive Engine
The latest thing I’ve been toying with is the game engine where hero’s mental and physical weaknesses affect varying actions. It has only be mentioned once before now, but I think it has teeth. I may even be able to adapt it back to the original genre it was to be designed for. After I get the basic rules fleshed out, it makes sense to run with Midnight Men, which is a sandbox noir-inspired pulp crime fighting setting. So far I like where the mechanics start, but I think I can push it further and get something more mind-blowing out of the bones I’ve constructed.

About Byron D. Molix

I am an information technology professional in Missouri. I've been an avid fan of fantasy and science fiction novels, comic books, pen and paper role-playing games, computer games and console video games for the last two decades. My dream would be to one day make a comfortable living while having the time to pursue writing (novels, rpgs, etc.) as a full-time hobby.

Posted on December 17, 2015, in Editorial, Gaming and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

